Made-in-minutes: Microwave cake

Versatile and popular, chocolate cake is always a winner – whether it’s served for dessert, at a special occasion or with afternoon tea.  Personally, I am not the biggest fan of chocolate cake, but when I tried this recipe out I was quite impressed. The cakes were soft, moist and held its shape well.  The first time I made it was actually for a cooking demonstration, and if I do say so myself it was quite a hit 🙂  I therefore decided to share it with all of my peeps.

chocolate rosettes

Mini chocolate rosettes, made in silicone moulds. topped with chocolate ganache and filled with whipped cream. (do excuse the quality of the image)

The great thing about this cake is that it’s SO easy: Literally 7-10 minute. It’s also ever so convenient when you have unexpected guests and feel the need to impress. As with most of us in the world seem to be pressed for time, this cake is also the perfect thing to make when you’re in a hurry.

The recipe below has been adjusted slightly to suite me, as I thought it tasted quite bland the first time I tried it out. All I added was a pinch of salt and some more cocoa. then I fixed up the method slighty but still left it to be ”a lazy cooks” recipe.

So without further ado, allow me to introduce the yummy chocolate microwave cake.

Chocolate Microwave cake

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 250ml sugar
  • 250ml milk
  • 250ml oil
  • 375ml cake flour
  • 50ml cocoa powder
  • 5ml baking powder
  • 5ml baking soda
  • 2ml salt

Method:

  • Lightly mix together the sugar and eggs. sift all the dry ingredients together, then add to egg mixture.
  • mix the milk and oil, then add to the mixture and mix until smooth.
  • Pour into a well-greased microwave-able dish.
  • Cook on high heat for 7-10 minutes.
  • Allow to cool, and ice with desired icing or ganache

(Serves 10-12)

To bake the microwave cake, I used silicone moulds, rosettes to be more exact. But you could use any microwave-able dish (such as glass). Not only does the silicone moulds make your cakes look pretty, but they also allow for ease when cleaning – that is if you have greased them well enough. Otherwise you WILL end up struggling to remove little bits of leftover cake. Thus, it is extremely important to grease your dish well, (like every inch and crevice) if you plan on turning the cakes out to create fancy shapes and things. Also note that the cooking time depends on your microwave. I have a vintage old school microwave so it took about 10 minutes. (Maybe longer, I can’t seem to recall). Microwaves with extreme high power may result in shorter cooking time. Luckily my microwave also has a transparent glass door, so I could check up on my cake throughout the cooking process.

Once cooked and cooled, I filled my rosettes with whipped cream, and then topped it with a triple duo of sweet treats: white chocolate, dark chocolate and caramel ganache. (As featured above)

You could decorate your cake whichever way your imagination takes you; there are no limits.

I hope that you give this recipe a try [but why wouldn’t you, it’s like super easy & delish!]

 Edible pleasures to all… peace!

10 thoughts on “Made-in-minutes: Microwave cake

    • Indeed you can! I twisted the recipe since I found it way too bland. Feel free to add whatever will tickle your tastebuds.:] But just mix the choc-chips in some of the flour before adding them, to prevent then from sinking to the bottom.

    • haha, that would be great and indeed a means for us to sort of de-stress! I’m sure it would be fine to have a lil bit and get away with it!… and thank you so much 🙂

Leave a Reply

