Fried Cheese & Onion Poppets

Hi Peeps!

Hope life has been good to all these past few days…. Today I thought I’d share my very own recipe with you, since it’s a holiday i didn’t have to go into to work, I also decided to prepare it myself, and take some with when going to break my fast with some friends tonight.

I developed this recipe earlier this year for a recipe development assignment whereby we had to to use a yeast dough and a filling of our own creation. I am proud to say it was A hit :), most people enjoyed it and best of all I received a distinction for it. Personally, it is quite simple and easy, probably even done before so I suppose My achievement was based on technicalities of how well the method was written or something like that (although I hope not). But I do think I could have done better; I may have been a tad bit lazy to use my ‘noggin’. My initial plan was too add tuna, but to my luck it was not on the list of ingredients this time, so I decided to just keep it simple.

The great thing about this recipe is that it is so versatile, you can add whatever your palate desires. Next time I prepare it, I want to add something different; maybe mushrooms, feta and spinach, or a vegetable medley. Today, I used whatever I had at home, I made the original cheese and onion, but added a bit of mozzarella and leftover steak from last night. For a healthier version, you could bake it, but then it would literally be a calzone, this is where my change-up came about; I chose to fry the pizza dough.

So here it is, My fried cheese & onion poppets:

Ingredients

Dough:

  • 150g (300ml) cake flour
  • 2.5g instant dry yeast
  • 5ml sugar
  • 2ml salt
  • 15ml sunflower or vegetable oil
  • 180ml lukewarm water

Filling:

  • 120g (300ml) cheddar cheese, grated
  • 1 medium onion, thinly sliced
  • 20ml sunflower oil for sautéing
  • 5ml mixed herbs
  • 5ml cayenne pepper
  • ± 500ml oil for frying

Method:

  1. To prepare the dough, mix flour, sugar, & salt together. Add the yeast and mix through.
  2. Mix the oil & water together, and then add just enough to form a soft dough. Add more liquid if necessary.
  3. Knead well for about 10 minutes until dough is smooth and elastic. Place in a greased bowl, covered with plastic wrap and allow to proof or rest in warm place for 20-25 minutes.
  4. Meanwhile, prepare the filling by sautéing the onions in the oil until caramelised and soft. Set aside to cool. Mix together the cheese and herbs, then add the onions.
  5. Once the dough is ready, divide into to pieces and roll both pieces very thinly out into rectangles (± 35x25cm). Divide the one piece of dough into 8 squares by scoring the dough.
  6. Place a spoonful (30-40ml) of filling onto the middle of each square and cover with the remaining piece of dough. Press the dough firmly onto the filling to remove any air bubbles.
  7. Using a cutter or knife, cut out squares or circles around each piece approximately 5cm in size.
  8. Place the 500ml of oil in a pan about (25cm wide and 6cm deep) and heat to 180°C. (to test use a thermometer or place a small piece of dough in the oil, when the dough rises & oil bubbles you are ready to fry)
  9. Place 2-3 poppets in the pan and allow to fry on each side for 1-2 minutes or until crisp & golden brown.

 

  • Serve while warm, 2 per person
  • Serves 4-5 people as alight snack
  • Yields 8-10 small poppets

I am quite excited to have some tonight, after having prepared it after such a long time! I do hope you guys give it try, and let me know what you think. Always remember, my recipes are more of a guideline, feel free to change-it-up to suite your taste buds, and savour each bite!

Until next time, Many edible pleasures to you all xx

 

Leave a Reply

